Skip to main content

Which countries have been FIFA World Cup champions?

The complete list of FIFA World Cup Champions

The 2022 FIFA World Cup began on Sunday, November 20, surrounded by more than its fair share of scandals: deaths during the construction of its stadiums, anti-LGBTQ+ conduct regulations, prohibition of the sale of alcohol, and fake “fan” parades. The truth is that after the 2018 World Cup in Russia, nothing has been very “normal.” For starters, the COVID-19 pandemic made the qualifiers — at least, the South American ones — something rather bland, with many games played in empty stadiums. Then, there’s the fact that the previous host (Russia) is now banned by FIFA due to the invasion of Ukraine. And, for the first time in history, the World Cup is being held in November and December, and not June and July, interrupting the usual schedules for leagues and continental competitions.

But while this World Cup matchup has had its controversy, teams and fans alike are pulling for that win. The championship has been held since 1930 — with some suspensions involved — and is an event that brings together all the passion that exists for this sport. For some of the 2022 competitors, a win in Qatar would represent their first. For others, this win would be one of many.

Related Videos

If your memory fails you and you want to know a little more about the history of the FIFA World Cup champion countries, read on.

When it comes to overall wins, Brazil has everyone beat. Specifically, the Brazilian team has won five times, although the last time was almost two decades ago.

Until then, though, let’s see which countries have clinched some FIFA World Cups.

Champion Total  World Cup
Brazil 5 Cups

Sweden 1958, Chile 1962, Mexico 1970,
United States 1994, Korea/Japan 2002


4 Cups

Italy 1934, France 1938, Spain 1982, Germany 2006


4 Cups

Swiss 1954, West Germany 1974, Italy 1990, Brazil 2014


2 Cups

Uruguay 1930, Brazil 1950


2 Cups

Argentina 1978, Mexico 1986


2 Cups

France 1998, Russia 2018


1 Cup

England 1966


1 Cup

South Africa 2010

Specifically, the Latin American countries have accumulated a total of nine Cups to their credit, while the European teams have a total of 12 World Cups, including the recent title for France in the 2018 World Cup in Russia. In fact, the last four tournaments have been won by European countries.

We will see if one of the European or Latin American countries will manage to take the win again this year, or if, finally, an African country manages to surprise. What team is your favorite? Which country do you think will win this time? This is just getting started, so there’s still plenty of time to figure it out.

Editors' Recommendations

How did country clubs get their name? The origin story you likely don’t know
The weird (and sometimes shameful) origins of the American country club
man golfing at a country club

The mere mention of a country club evokes a certain image. Whether you’re a long-time member or have only experienced them through movies like Caddyshack and yes, High School Musical 2, you can perfectly envision the sweeping lawns of bright green grass, the clean and luxurious facilities, and the fastidious, upscale appearance of the members. But how did these member-only clubs first begin? And why were they called “country clubs” to begin with? Keep reading to learn about the interesting (and occasionally shameful) history of country clubs.

How did country clubs get their name?
Country clubs originated in Scotland, but their American journey actually begins in China. In the 1860s, a young Bostonian named James Murray Forbes relocated to Shanghai for business. Forbes helped his family’s trading business, which trafficked spices, teas, and silks. The business was wildly successful, giving Forbes and his other trading buddies the cash needed to start their own social club in the city. They named the Shanghai club “The Country Club.”

Read more
Why the world needs ‘Welcome to Wrexham’ right now
The documentary shows how sports are an indivisible part of identity
Ryan Reynolds (left) and Rob McElhenney introducing themselves to Wrexham at the home stadium.

There’s a peculiar moment in the first episode of Welcome to Wrexham, the new football (soccer) documentary from FX. The viewer is suddenly thrown back into the limbo that was 2020, thanks to an unnamed chef at a food stand behind a flat-top grill just outside of Y Cae Ras (The Racecourse Ground), the oldest stadium still in use in the world.

“This is just a more surreal year than ever — COVID, Hollywood superstars takin’ over. I think with what’s goin’ on in the world, and the football not bein’ great, just keepin’ people’s spirits up — it’s just been a godsend, really,” the man says.

Read more
Champion Snowboarder Elena Hight Reflects on Title IX
This Includes Backcountry Filmmaking and Nonprofit Work
Elena Hight on a snowboard in mountainous backcountry.

Professional snowboarder and Team USA member Elena Hight stands out even among professional snowboarding’s elite. At the age of 13, she became the first female to land a 900-degree turn in competition. She’s participated in two Winter Olympics and in 2013, she became the first snowboarder (male or female) to land a double backside alley-oop rodeo at the Winter X Games.

Post her decorated career, Hight is expanding her impact, filmmaking on backcountry slopes and supporting the future of women’s sports. Part of this effort is the snowboarder’s work with the Women’s Sports Foundation as Title IX’s landmark legislation turns 50.

Read more